Author Topic: introducing myself- German TG 500 owner looking for contact in the US&worldwide  (Read 18298 times)

TG500-Martin

Dear Microcar friends,

first let me introduce myself, Martin Sauer, 46 years old, living in Germany. I am proud & happy owner of 2 Messerschmitt KR 200 and 3 FMR TG 500. 1 KR 200 and 1 TG 500 still in need of full restoration ;-). I got my first KR 200 at the age of 13 and never sold it. I did and still do everything (except bodywork & paint) by myself. Having completed already 4 total rebuilts of TG 500 engines I have some experience with these. In my normal life I am captain on a private jet, I am flying a Hawker 900 XP, mostly all over Europe and Far East countries.

I do have some request:

Together with Heiko Z, who is the german "TG 500 guru" and living just 1 hour away, I am bulding up a TG 500 archive. Well probably it will never be complete, but I want as many pictures as possible of each TG 500 existing. We know of almost 160 worldwide surviving examples by today. (register) We still have some open questions, for example with which framenumber was the FMR sign changed, when did they remove the wooden rails below the side windows etc. I would be really happy if I could receive as many pictures (with the frame number) as possible. Please use my email adress martinair at gmx.de for that. Also the register is listing many cars as "disappeared", being sold or whatever. On request I can submit the VIN's in question. (for example the 2 TG 500 from the last 2 RM auctions, Bruce Weiner (VIN 20563) & New York (VIN 21027)). Any advice on these or the others would be really welcome.

In return I can give advice on rebuilding TG 500 engines or help with parts. There is quite much available right now. For example I had the clutch hubs remade last year. And since I am driving my 2 restored TG 500 quite much (including racing), I probably can answer many questions.

looking forward to your emails!

Martin